Featured

Popping-in with the Cast of Kiss Me, Kate

02.02.19

BY: FRANCESCA BRILLI

Kiss Me, Kate has been popping up around town – and we don’t just mean their new marquees!

Roundabout Theatre Company has created a photo booth complete with candy hearts and cardboard cutouts of Kelli O’Hara and Will Chase. Not only can you visit this adorable “kissing booth” (although no kisses will be provided), the incredible cast of Roundabout’s revival pop-in on occasion, too!

Cast member Jesmille Darbouze, who will be making her Broadway debut! Photo by Francesca Brilli.

Cast member Jesmille Darbouze, who will be making her Broadway debut! Photo by Francesca Brilli.

The first winner of the Tony Award for Best Musical (ever!), Kiss Me, Kate Follows a group of cast members putting on a musical adaptation of William Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew – and the interpersonal conflicts that happen off-stage amongst them. Set to the famous music by Cole Porter, this revival stars Tony-winner Kelli O’Hara, Will Chase, and Corbin Bleu.

On February 1st, a number of cast members arrived and took photos at Roundabout’s most recent pop-up, which took place at MAC Cosmetics in Times Square. Fans of Kiss Me, Kate were invited to come on in, try on a few lipsticks, and pose with the cast! One of the cast members who took part in the festivities was Stephanie Styles, who will be making her Broadway debut as Lois Lane/Bianca.

Stephanie Styles takes her turn posing in the photo booth. Photo by Francesca Brilli.

Styles is most popularly known as portraying Katherine Plummer in the First North American Tour of Newsies, and recently portrayed Princess Ann in the musical adaptation of Roman Holiday in San Francisco.

If you missed the pop-up today, don’t worry! This same booth will be traveling to The DoubleTree at Times Square West on February 7th from 3-5pm, and again in the lobby of Kiss Me, Kate’s Broadway Theatre, Studio 54 on February 15th from 3-5pm (you can find out more information here).

Kiss Me, Kate starts previews at Studio 54 on Valentine’s Day and officially opens on March 14th, with a limited engagement until June 2nd where tickets will be in play through Broadway Roulette.

Have you popped into the booth around town? Tweet us your photos @bwayroulette!